Dramatic Theology

I just purchased The Christian Faith, a systematic theology written by one of my seminary professors, Dr. Michael Horton. I’ve been looking forward to reading this book since my days as a seminary student when it was just a writing project.

I love how the book starts. Horton writes,

In 1949, the English playwright and novelist Dorothy Sayers observed the common antipathy in her day toward doctrine: “‘Dull dogma,’ they call it.” According to Sayers, however, Christianity is the most interesting story ever told. “And the dogma is the drama.”

Horton wants to help Christians living in a culture that is suspicious of theology understand how important and practical theology actually is to the Christian life.

This book is not for the feint of heart. It’s primary audience is “professors, pastors, students, and armchair theologians.” Horton draws from a rich heritage of Reformed systematic theology to engage post-modern thinking and help believers navigate the unique challenges and opportunities of our time.

This is a book worth discussing, so if you are interested in reading it with me let me know in the comments!

About David Lee

I am the pastor of New Life Mission Church of Fremont meeting in Newark, CA. I live in Fremont with my wife and three children. In my former life I was a history teacher at Irvington High School in Fremont. I love watching and discussing movies (but not at the same time), playing board games, hiking, visiting local cafes, and watching and complaining about (at the same time) Bay Area sports.
This entry was posted in Faith and Books, Faith and Theology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

