Glocalize Me!

We’ve seen how the internet can bring people together on a global level, but we are just beginning to see how it can also bring people together on a local level. For example, New Life has been using Meetup.com to help local mothers connect and find friendship (see our meetup page here). Meetup.com is a social networking site that specializes in helping people form local groups that “do something, learn something, share something, change something.” New Life moms have been connecting with both Christian and non-Christian moms in the area to have playdates, plan events, and ultimately build relationships.

I’m no expert but it seems like most Christian blogs either aim at a global (or at least national) audience or at a ghetto (i.e. your church) audience. There is a place for both and I don’t want to take anything away from many of the fine Christian blogs with a national following or the fine church blogs that are huge resources for their local congregations. Still, I can’t help wondering how awesome it would be to have a blog with local followers both inside and outside the church. This would be a blog where you could passionately and respectfully discuss and disagree about matters concerning faith and life in Christ online, then go down the street and meet up for coffee or a beer to talk in person with the blogger and the commenters. I want a glocal blog.

I don’t have any models to follow, so I need your help. I’ll post more on this topic later but for now I’m thinking of re-naming the blog (I have to credit my friend Mike for suggesting this). What would be a good name for a Christian glocal blog? Here are two that come to mind now:

“Glocal Christianity”

“Life and Faith in the Bay”

Give me your suggestions and thoughts about what a glocal blog about the Christian faith could look like! Glocalize me!

About David Lee

I am the pastor of New Life Mission Church of Fremont meeting in Newark, CA. I live in Fremont with my wife and three children. In my former life I was a history teacher at Irvington High School in Fremont. I love watching and discussing movies (but not at the same time), playing board games, hiking, visiting local cafes, and watching and complaining about (at the same time) Bay Area sports.
This entry was posted in Blog Guidelines, Glocalized Blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Glocalize Me!

  1. jasoncb90 says:

    Glocal Christianity! It’s catchy and hip-sounding. Maybe that’s just the college student in me talking though. But I think it captures the idea of applying a global-reaching technology to a local community well.

  2. David Lee says:

    Danke Bryan! Hope to hang out locally sometime as well.

  3. Bryan Cheung says:

    I will follow you globally from Frankfurt, Germany (and all the other places I travel to these days).

    Currently in LA,
    Bryan

Leave a Reply

