Requesting Topics and Questions

It may surprise you to know that I love to get questions that I can’t answer. It wasn’t always this way. There was a time that I was intimidated when I didn’t have all the answers but I’ve come to realize that Christ changes the way I deal with questions and answers.

When you talk to people about their beliefs you generally find people who either invest their personal worth in being “right” or invest their personal worth in proving everyone is “right” (or everyone is “wrong”).

I invested my personal worth in being “right.” I loved to answer people’s questions because it reinforced my sense of being “right.” I panicked when I didn’t have the answers because it made me feel like I was “wrong.”

To be honest I still struggle with this, but I am learning that Christ frees me from my need to have the answers or be right. Ultimately the gospel is not about having the right answer, but about being known and unconditionally loved by the one with all the right answers. I love the apostle Paul’s words to the church in Corinth where people were questioning the legitimacy of his teaching:

For consider your calling, brothers: not many of you were wise according to worldly standards, not many were powerful, not many were of noble birth. But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are, so that no human being might boast in the presence of God. He is the source of your life in Christ Jesus, whom God made our wisdom and our righteousness and sanctification and redemption. Therefore, as it is written, “Let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord.” (1 Corinthians 1:26-31)

Because I am known and unconditionally loved by God in Christ I am learning to generously disagree and to look at my ignorance with humility. Questions that I can’t answer make me wonder at the vast wisdom of God that at some points is just out of my reach.

Do you have a topic or question that you’d like to see explored on this blog? Post them in the comments! I especially love the ones that make me scratch my head!

About David Lee

I am the pastor of New Life Mission Church of Fremont meeting in Newark, CA. I live in Fremont with my wife and three children. In my former life I was a history teacher at Irvington High School in Fremont. I love watching and discussing movies (but not at the same time), playing board games, hiking, visiting local cafes, and watching and complaining about (at the same time) Bay Area sports.
This entry was posted in Blog Guidelines. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

